### **Briefing for PWSRCAC Board of Directors – May 2022**

### **ACTION ITEM**

Sponsor:AdministrationProject number and name or topic:Committee Me

Administration Committee Member Appointments

1. **Description of agenda item**: This agenda item is to request that the Board support the volunteer membership of the committees by the appointment of applicants to a two-year term to the committees listed below:

# Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC)Davin HolenRenewalSarah AllanRenewalDebu MisraRenewalAna Aguilar-IslasNewNote: The committee consists of nine members including renewals and new members.Directors on SAC: Dorothy Moore, Wayne Donaldson

### Terminal Operations and Environmental Monitoring Committee (TOEM)

Matt CullinRenewalGeorge SkladalRenewalNote: The committee consists of eight members including renewals.Directors on TOEM: Amanda Bauer

### **Oil Spill Prevention and Response Committee (OSPR)**

Jerry Brookman Renewal Dave Goldstein Renewal Note: The committee consists of eight members including renewals. Directors on OSPR: Robert Beedle, Mike Bender

### Port Operations and Vessel Traffic Systems (POVTS)

Gordon TerpeningRenewalMax MitchellRenewalNote: The committee consists of five members including renewals and new members.Directors on POVTS: Amanda Bauer, Robert Archibald

### Information and Education Committee (IEC)

Ruthie KnightRenewalKate MorseRenewalNote: The committee consists of eight members including renewals.Directors on IEC: With Patience Andersen Faulkner's resignation, a Director is notcurrently assigned to IEC. Per PWSRCAC Bylaws, one or more Directors shall be assignedto each standing committee.

# Annual Technical Committee Member Appointments 4-5

2. **Why is this item important to PWSRCAC:** Maintaining a strong committee membership has been a high priority for PWSRCAC. The committees are an integral component of PWSRCAC's work and require strong volunteer membership.

3. **Summary of policy, issues, support or opposition:** Selection criteria for committee members includes: 1) experience or background in a technical field; 2) having a stake in safe oil transportation and/or terminal operations; 3) residents of the EVOS region given preference; 4) objectivity; 5) special skills or expertise; and 6) must be a resident of the State of Alaska with the intention of remaining a resident. Additionally, at least one Board member shall serve on each PWSRCAC standing committee.

4. **<u>Committee Recommendation:</u>** The committee chairs and staff will discuss the seating of these members at the meeting during the executive session.

5. **<u>Relationship to LRP and Budget:</u>** Committee expenses tend to increase with the size of the committee but have always been an important part of the PWSRCAC budget. In the past, the Board supported limiting committee members to eight plus Board members.

## 6. Action Requested of the Board of Directors:

a) Elect committee members to two-year terms on their respective committees; andb) Assign a Director to serve on IEC.

# 7. <u>Alternatives:</u> None proposed.

8. **Attachments:** The meeting attendance for the last three years for all committee members is in section 2-4 of the meeting packet. Applications for new members are provided to Board members only <u>upon request</u>.