Citizens’ council board elects new officers, seats new members

The council’s board of directors elected its seven-member executive committee May 2 and 3 during a meeting in Valdez.

Prince William Sound Regional Citizens' Advisory Council's Executive Committee, 2013-2014
Prince William Sound Regional Citizens’ Advisory Council’s Executive Committee, 2013-2014, left to right: Thane Miller, Diane Selanoff, Patience Andersen Faulkner, Amanda Bauer, Blake Johnson and Marilynn Heddell.

Amanda Bauer, who represents the city of Valdez on the board, was elected president. She succeeds Dorothy Moore, who also represents the city of Valdez.

“I welcome the opportunity to assist in upholding the mission statement of the council,” said Bauer. “As a consumer of petroleum products, I feel it is very important to contribute when possible to help keep Prince William Sound and the downstream communities as healthy and safe as possible for all users – industry, regulators and citizens alike.”

Besides Bauer, the executive committee, which will serve until the board’s May 2014 meeting, is as follows:

Thane Miller, representing the Prince William Sound Aquaculture Corporation, will serve as vice president. Marilynn Heddell, representative of the city of Whittier, was elected as treasurer. Patience Andersen Faulkner, representative of the Cordova District Fishermen United will serve as secretary. The members at large are: Blake Johnson, Kenai Peninsula Borough; Diane Selanoff, Port Graham Corporation; and Steve Lewis, city of Seldovia.

The council also seated four new board members at the Valdez meeting. Jim Herbert now represents the city of Seward, replacing John French; Nick Garay now represents the city of Homer, replacing John Velsko; Robert Beedle represents the city of Cordova, replacing James Kasch; and Emil Christiansen represents the Kodiak Village Mayors’ Association, replacing Iver Malutin.

Skip to content