New member entity joins Council

Area recreation enthusiasts now have permanent, dedicated representation on the Council’s Board of Directors.

Jim Herbert

The newly-formed Oil Spill Region Recreational Coalition was added to the Council’s roster of member entities at the January meeting. Jim Herbert was chosen by the coalition as its representative.

Herbert had been serving as a temporary recreation representative for the past year while the while the council solicited interest from recreational organizations to potentially fill the seat. Herbert previously represented the City of Seward from 2013 to 2015. He is also the current chair of the Council’s Oil Spill Prevention and Response Committee.

The new coalition’s mission is to promote the enhancement, preservation, and protection of the recreational resources of Prince William Sound and areas affected by the Exxon Valdez oil spill.

The three founding members of the coalition are the Prince William Sound Stewardship Foundation, the Valdez Adventure Alliance, and the Friends of Kachemak Bay State Park. The group welcomes other organizations who promote recreation in the Exxon Valdez oil spill region.

The Prince William Sound Stewardship Foundation is a nonprofit organization dedicated to keeping Prince William Sound healthy, clean and wild, for all to enjoy. Visit them online at:

The Valdez Adventure Alliance seeks to improve quality of life through equitable access to outdoor recreation resources, education, and events. Visit them online at:

The Friends of Kachemak Bay State Park promotes the enhancement, preservation and protection of the natural recreational, scientific and historical resources of Kachemak Bay State Park. Visit them online at:


Board of Directors met in Anchorage

The Council held a Board meeting in Anchorage on Thursday and Friday, January 25-26, 2024.

The Council conducted regular business during the meeting, including updates from Council ex officio members, staff and committees. Other topics included on the agenda were:

  • An activity report by Alyeska Pipeline Service Company on the Valdez Marine Terminal and Ship Escort Response Vessel System operations, including an update on Alyeska’s efforts to address concerns identified in the Council’s report “Assessment of Risks and Safety Culture at the Valdez Marine Terminal.”
  • A presentation from Alaska Tanker Company on upgrades and changes to their Alaska fleet.
  • Introduction and discussions with the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation Commissioner Designee, Emma Pokon.
  • A report on the results from the Council’s Long-Term Environmental Monitoring Program, now in its 30th year, analyzing mussels, marine sediment and passive sampling devices to monitor oil contamination associated with operation of the Valdez Marine Terminal and associated tankers.
  • A briefing from Council staff on the renewal of Alyeska’s Valdez Marine Terminal Oil Discharge Prevention and Contingency Plan, including comments submitted by the Council to the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation in December 2023.
  • A presentation on the recent Hope Spot designation for Prince William Sound by the Prince William Sound Stewardship Foundation.
  • A presentation on the Shepard Point Marine Tribal Transportation Oil Spill and Marine Casualty Response Facility by the Native Village of Eyak.
  • Consideration by the Council to create a designated recreation seat on the Board and appointment of a new director to fill the seat, should it be approved.

Council Board meetings are routinely recorded and may be disseminated to the public by the Council or by the news media.

Board of Directors’ January 2024 meeting materials now available

The Council’s January 25-26, 2023 Board of Directors meeting will be held in-person in Anchorage, Alaska. The meeting will also be available virtually and telephonically for those unable to travel.

Join the meeting: Meeting audio and video, including presentations, will be available streaming online via Zoom (available starting January 26 by 8:00 a.m.) or by calling 1-888-788-0099, reference meeting ID 846 6601 3879

A complete meeting packet will be available for download HERE, on or before January 19, 2024.

TitleView Document
1 00 Final Agenda PWSRCAC Board Meeting, January 25 26, 2024 In Anchorage
1 01 Draft Minutes of September 21 22, 2023
1 02 Draft Minutes of November 21, 2023
2 01 List of Commonly Used Acronyms
2 02 Budget Status Report as of December 19, 2023
2 03 PWSRCAC Director Attendance
2 04 Committee Member Attendance Record
2 05 List of Board Committee Members
2 06 One Page Strategic Plan
2 07 List of Recent Board and Executive Committee Actions
2 08 PWSRCAC Organizational Chart
3 01 Contract Approval for Air Quality Monitoring at the VMT
3 02 Approval of FY24 Contract with Taku Engineering for Engineering Support
4 01 Report Acceptance 2022 2023 LTEMP
4 02 Approval of Fy2024 Budget Modifications
4 03 2023 VMT C Plan Renewal & Approval of C Plan Contract Increase
4 03 PRESENTATION 2023 VMT C Plan Renewal and Approval of C Plan Contract Increase
4 04 Consideration of Oil Spill Region Recreation Coalition as Class I Member
4 05 Director Appointment for Oil Spill Region Recreational Coalition
4 06 Report Approval PWSRCAC Annual Long Range Plan
5 01 Program and Project Status Report
Complete Packet January 2024 Board Meeting
PRESENTATION Alyeska/SERVS’ Activity Report – January 2024
PRESENTATION by Alaska Tanker Co. on upgrades and changes to their Alaska fleet
PRESENTATION by Native Village of Eyak (NVE) on Shepard Point Facility
PRESENTATION Hope Spot Designation for Prince William Sound

Anyone experiencing COVID-19 symptoms should not attend the meeting in-person

Board meetings are open to the public, and an opportunity for the public to provide comments is provided at the beginning of each meeting.

Board elects officers for upcoming year

Photo of five of the six executive committee members who will serve until May 2024.
Left to right: Ben Cutrell, Amanda Bauer, Robert Archibald, Robert Beedle, and Angela Totemoff. Not pictured: Bob Shavelson.

At its annual Board meeting in Valdez, on May 4-5, 2023, the Board elected officers who will serve from May 2023 to May 2024. All current officers were re-elected into the same positions they held for the previous year.

The elected executive committee is comprised of:

  • President: Robert Archibald, representing the City of Homer
  • Vice President: Amanda Bauer, representing the City of Valdez
  • Treasurer: Wayne Donaldson, representing the City of Kodiak
  • Secretary: Bob Shavelson, representing the Oil Spill Region Environmental Coalition
  • Three Members-at-Large:
    • Ben Cutrell, representing Chugach Alaska Corporation
    • Robert Beedle, representing Cordova District Fishermen United
    • Angela Totemoff, representing the Community of Tatitlek

“The Council believes firmly that our greatest successes result from citizens, industry and regulators working together to maintain and improve our safeguards designed to prepare for and prevent future oil spills,” Robert Archibald said. “It is crucial we not forget the reasons that led to the creation of this organization and continue to work together to maintain the record of safe, efficient transportation of crude oil through our region. I am honored to lead our Board for another year as we work toward our shared goal of protecting our communities, economies and environment.”

The Council is grateful to have the support of its many volunteers from all over the Exxon Valdez oil spill region. The new executive committee is an excellent representation of the Council.

Meet the Executive Committee and new representative from Seward

[wpfilebase tag=file id=7508 tpl=simple /]

Skip to content