Executive committee for next year includes a mix of council experience and new members

During its annual board meeting in Valdez this May, the council board held elections to choose its seven-member executive committee.

Amanda Bauer of Valdez was elected to her third term as president. Thane Miller, who represents Prince William Sound Aquaculture Corporation on the board, was elected to his third consecutive term as vice-president. Bob Shavelson, who represents the Oil Spill Region Environmental Coalition, was re-elected as secretary. Newly seated Orson Smith of Seward was elected as treasurer.

Elected to serve as at-large members of the executive committee were Melissa Berns, who represents the Kodiak Village Mayors Association, and Robert Archibald of Homer, two newly seated members. Long-time board member Patience Andersen Faulkner, who represents the Cordova District Fishermen United, is the third at-large member.

These officers will serve until the next elections in May 2016.

New board members seated in May include: Mako Haggerty of Homer , who replaced Blake Johnson as the Kenai Peninsula Borough representative; Alisha Sughroue of Seldovia, who replaced Steve Lewis; and Orson Smith of Seward, who replaced Jim Herbert.

New council executive committee elected May 2015 and new members seated May 2015


Subscribe to The Observer!

Want to receive every issue of The Observer straight to your inbox? Subscriptions are free. Subscribe here: The Observer

Skip to content