Homer representative elected president of Council

The Council held annual elections to choose its seven-member executive committee at the May meeting in Valdez.

Robert Archibald, who represents the City of Homer, was elected as president. Amanda Bauer, who represents the City of Valdez, was elected as vice-president. Bob Shavelson, who represents the Oil Spill Region Environmental Coalition, was re-elected as secretary. Wayne Donaldson, who represents the City of Kodiak, was re-elected as treasurer. Three directors will serve on the committee as members-at-large: Peter Andersen, who represents the Chugach Alaska Corporation, Thane Miller, who represents the Prince William Sound Aquaculture Corporation, and Rebecca Skinner, who represents the Kodiak Island Borough.

These officers will serve until the next election in May 2020.

New directors

Three new directors have joined the Council’s Board.

Rob Chadwell replaced Orson Smith as the representative for the City of Seward. Smith remains a volunteer for the Council on the Port Operations and Vessel Traffic System Committee. Chadwell is a professional mariner and is currently an instructor at AVTEC – Alaska’s Institute of Technology.

Conrad Peterson replaced Melissa Berns as the representative from the Kodiak Village Mayors Association. Born and raised in Old Harbor, Peterson has been a guide for Kodiak Sportsman’s Lodge since 2003. He is also a U.S. Coast Guard-licensed captain.

Dr. Kirk Zinck is the new representative from the City of Seldovia, replacing Alisha Chartier. Zinck, a lifelong Alaskan, is a licensed marriage and family therapist who holds a Ph.D. in Marriage and Family Therapy plus degrees in counseling and teaching.

Skip to content